jump to navigation

Pedro? August 14, 2007

Posted by DG in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

Pedro Martinez says he is 100% healthy. He may be but is he in pitching shape?

Better yet, when he comes back to the Mets, will he make a difference?

In his second rehab start, he gave up a 3 run homer but did strikeout 4. Martinez said that he is’nt really working on striking people out but mostly working on locating pitches..

“This is Rookie ball and A ball, and they are scoring three, four, five runs on me. I am not really looking for strikeouts. I am actually working on pitches, where do I want pitches to fall, what specific zone I want in my pitches and forget about the kids.”

Forget about the kids? If you can’t get “The Kids” out you aren’t going to get Major League ball players out.

In my opinion, The Mets could use a boost especially in the bullpen, but I doubt Martinez will be the solution. Martinez is a high-profile player and will take some of the pressure and the spotlight off the team that has been riddled with injuries. And with the Phillies and the Braves breathing down their necks in the standings this would be a plus and they should be able to focus on winning games with the players they have now.

Bottom line, he will make a difference but it won’t be due to the amount of strikeouts he has or the location of his pitches.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment